Scientific People Association Containing Every Disciplines (SPACED)

Annual General Meeting

Date: 8 July 2013

Time: 11:00 am

Location: 210, Write-up Room, Johnson Lab

Quorum:Yes (14)

Items:

- 1. Opening and Welcome:
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Report:
- 4. Adoption/ Changes of Constitution:
- 5. Election of New Committees
- 6. Time/ venue of next meeting
- 7. Close of meeting

Signatures_____

_(Secretary)

Signatures	(President)

Meeting for Scientific People Association Containing Every Disciplines (SPACED)

Date: 8 July 2013 Location: Room 210, Johnson Lab, North Terrace Campus, University of Adelaide. Time: 11:00 am

1. Welcome, Attendance:

Ben Geytenbeek took the chair, with the permission of current president *Ian Shaw*. The meeting opens at 11:00 am.

Attendance: Ben Geytenbeek, Ian Lau, Brittany Howell, Bryan Banks, Natasha Maddigan, Swathi Edakkadan, Matthew Bowie, Gemma Gransbury, Jason Oliver, Andrew Hayes, Rohan Hudson, Sarah Clark, Georgii Shulga, Tim Aldridge, Tuong Cao.

2. Apologies:

Apologies: Megan Williams, Irene Willcocks, Rosemary Young, Ian Shaw

3. **Report**:

Latest report was from 30th July 2012, reporting financial status of the club. Referring to the report for further details. There has been no activity since then.

4. Adoption and Changes of Constitution:

Motion 1: Name of the club is subjected for changes from *Scientific People Association Containing Every Disciplines (SPACED)* to *Adelaide University Sciences Association (AUScA).* Moved: Ben Geytenbeek Seconded: Jason Oliver Motion 1was carried by approval of all fifteen attending members.

Motion 2: The club's s constitutions are changed as followed:

- + Section 3: Objectives of the Club is changed to section 3: Objectives or purposes of the Association. This excludes the last dot point of former SPACED's objectives, which is held the same. This dot point stated that one of the objective is 'to maintain Club status as the oldest Club in the University'.
- +Section 5 (Membership), section 6 (Membership Fee), section 7 (Termination of Membership) are changed to section 5(Membership). Sub-sections of section 5 covered section 5, 6 and 7.

+Sections 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 are changed to section 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14. Referring to the documents of these constitutions for details.

Moved: Ben Geytenbeek

Seconded: Matthew Bowie

Motion 2 was carried by approval of all fifteen attending members.

Motion 3: Addition of point (h) to section 6.2. *Appointment* in the constitution which has been changed after motion 2: Method of voting for the appointment of nominees to

committee positions shall be by secret ballot preferential voting unless a consensus is reached by the nominees for another voting method. Moved: Ben Geytenbeek Seconded: Gemma Gransbury Motion 3 was carried by approval of all fifteen attending members.

5. Election of New Committee Members:

Motion: The appointment of new Committee Members is determined as in previous AUScA Inaugural General Meeting on 14 June 2013, which is as followed: President: Ben Geytenbeek Vice-President: Jason Oliver Secretary: Tuong Cao Treasurer: Irene Willcocks CA Delegate: Matthew Bowie

First Year Representative: Brittany Howell Committee members:

- 1. Rosemary Young
- 2. Gemma Gransbury
- 3. Rohan Hudson
- 4. Swathi Edakkadan
- 5. Megan Williams
- 6. Andrew Hayes

Moved: Ian Lau

Seconded: Natasha Maddigan

Motion was carried by approval of all fifteen attending members.

6. **Time/ Venue of Next Meeting**

The next meeting would be held at Room 210 – Write up Room, Johnson Lab, North Terrace Campus, The University of Adelaide, at 11:45 on 8 July 2013.

7. Close of meeting

Ben Geytenbeek closed the meeting and thanked everyone for their attendance at 11:35

Minutes submitted by Tuong Cao (Secretary) Minutes approved on 8 July 2013 by Ben Geytenbeek (President)