# Annual General Meeting of The Scientific Peoples' Association, Containing Every Discipline Held on 27 March 2012 at 6.00 pm

Р	rese	nt:	

Louise Vermey (Treasurer)	Undergraduate Student	1608942
Michael Young (Secretary, Webmaster)	Cross Institutional Member	N/A
Ian Shaw (President)	Undergraduate Student	1211442
Pakwan Rangseekajee	Undergraduate Student	1621990
Geordie Millar	Undergraduate Student	1176210
Minglu Yin	Undergraduate Student	
Mark Jessop	Postgraduate Student	N/A
Philip Woolford	Undergraduate Student	
Michael Cowley	Undergraduate Student	1212874
Michael Tran	Undergraduate Student	1174857

Matthew Taylor (CA Representative)

Apologies: Christine Thompson (Vice-President)

Iain Neilson Mark Aartsen

Jaykob Clark (Social Secretary)

Ellison Musimuko Elizabeth Maciunas Matthew Tamlin

\_\_\_\_\_

#### Agenda:

- 1: Welcome
- 2: President's Report
- 3: Vice-President's Report
- 4: Treasurer's Report
- 5: Elections
- 6: Other business

# 1: Welcome

Meeting opened at 6:23 PM

Ian Shaw welcomed everyone and thanked them for their attendance.

Chair passed to Louise Vermey.

# 2: President's Report

Ian Shaw gave a verbal report

- No BBQs held in the last year, we should do something about that this year
- One pub crawl (attendance was small but people loved it)
- Three movie nights held last year, reasonable attendance considering the size of the club, but we may need to increase the pizza charge, to cover the rising costs of pizza
- Lecture with Bruce Dawson held last year. They need better promotion, but people who attended enjoyed it.

## Plans for this year:

- BBQs
- Pub Crawl
- Replace the black club banner sometime this year, as the current one is starting to get ragged and worn
- More talks

## MOTION: THAT THE PRESIDENT'S REPORT BE ACCEPTED

MILLAR/RANGSEEKAJEE CARRIED

Chair passed to Ian Shaw

# 3: Vice-President's Report

Christine Thompson gave her apologies for not being able to attend the meeting. She had nothing to report.

## 4: Treasurer's Report

Louise Vermey gave a verbal report.

We currently have about \$400 in cash box, and about \$500 in the bank, with a \$500 check from the grant we received at the end of last year, which is yet to be cashed.

We also have several shirt of both last year's SPACED Invaders design, and the 2008 National Science Week design. The former are being sold, the latter given away.

We also have a number of items inherited from the Adelaide University Science Association (AUScA), namely a number of banners from the old Sciences o'Camp, and lots of AUScA letter head paper and envelopes. Most of this needs going through, and a decision needs to be made regarding what to do with it.

MOTION: THAT THE TREASURER'S REPORT BE ACCEPTED

YIN/COWLEY CARRIED

#### 5: Elections

Chair passed to Matthew Taylor

All positions were declared vacant.

#### **Election of President:**

**Nominations:** Louise Vermey (Shaw/Vermey)

Ian Shaw (Yin)

Ian Shaw declined the nomination.

**Elected Official:** Louise Vermey (unopposed, with acclamation)

# **Election of Vice President**

Nominations: Michael Young (Young/Shaw)

**Elected Official:** Michael Young (unopposed, with acclamation)

## **Election of Treasurer**

Nominations: Ian Shaw (Shaw/Cowley)

Elected Official: Ian Shaw (unopposed, with acclamation)

## **Election of Secretary**

Nominations: Ian Shaw (Young/Shaw)

[NB: Ian Shaw was only accepted the nomination after no-one else present was nominated for the

position]

**Elected Official:** Ian Shaw (unopposed, with half hearted acclamation)

## **Election of CA Delegate**

Nominations: Louise Vermey (Shaw/Vermey) Elected Official: Louise Vermey (unopposed)

#### Election of Social Secretary

Nominations: Jaykob Clark (Clark, in absentia/Shaw)

Elected Official: Jaykob Clark (unopposed)

## Election of Webmaster

**Nominations:** Michael Young (Young/Shaw) **Elected Official:** Michael Young (unopposed)

## **Election of the General Committee**

Nominations: Geordie Millar (Millar/Shaw)

Michael Cowley (Shaw/Cowley)

Pakwan Ranseekajee (Ranseekajee/Vermey)

Christine Thompson (Thompson, in absentia/Vermey)

**Elected Officials:** There being no limit on the number of general committee members, Geordie

Millar, Michael Cowley, Pakwan Ranseekajee, and Christine Thompson were elected.

MOTION: THAT THE RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT BE ACCEPTED

MILLAR/VERMEY CARRIED

Chair Passed to Ian Shaw

## 6: Other Business

#### 6.1 Bank Signatories

MOTION: THAT REBECCA BLACKWELL, MARK ARTSEN, IAIN NIELSON AND MICHAEL TODD BE REMOVED FROM THE LIST OF SIGNATORIES, AND THAT IAN SHAW, LOUISE VERMEY, AND MICHAEL YOUNG BE ADDED.

VERMEY/YOUNG CARRIED

## **6.2 Constitutional Amendments**

MOTION: THAT SECTION 11.3 OF THE CONSTITUTION BE AMENDED TO READ "THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR A CO-OPTED EXECUTIVE MEMBER SHALL BE THREE MONTHS, BY WHICH TIME A GM MUST BE CALLED TO RATIFY THE CONTINUATION OF THE POSITION TO FULL TERM.", AND THE FOLLOWING BE ADDED AS SECTION 11.4: "THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR A CO-OPTED COMMITTEE MEMBER SHALL

BE UNTIL THE NEXT **GM**, AT WHICH TIME THEY MUST BE RATIFIED IN ORDER TO CONTINUE IN THAT POSITION."

VERMEY/YOUNG

# 6.3 **BBQs**

Micheal Young suggested that our BBQs be diversified, to include alternatives to beef sausages. The point was raised that vegetarian options are more expensive to purchase, and don't sell as well. Matthew Taylor informed us of the glorious BBQs organised by former BBQ Kings, godless, which in those days also had the option of steaks, and a number of other items. More recently, cs.club(); has had much success selling steaks at its BBQs in addition to sausages. The matter was deferred to committee meetings.

## **6.4 Movie Nights**

At the last movie night, Micheal Young introduced the reward of a sweet of some kind for anyone who found a flaw in the science being shown. This seemed to be popular, and so will be continued. Michael welcomed additional ideas that can be used in movie nights.

## 7: Close

Ian Shaw again thanked everyone for coming and congratulated the new committee.

Meeting closed at 6:53 PM. All Hail Madame President!